Young CR brigade rocks formidable CH 27-22

6th February 2022

The young CR & FC outfit propelled by tries from their captain and scrum half Kavindu de Costa, Number Eight Jero Dananjaya and fly half Murshid Doray scored a 27 points (3 tries, 3 conversions, 2 penalties) to 22 (4 tries, 1 conversion) win over a fighting CH and FC in their SLR ‘A’ Division League Rugby tournament first round match played for the Nizar Haji Omar Memorial Trophy at Longden Place yesterday.

At half time CR led 24-12.

It was CR’s forwards who paved the way for this victory as their Eight gave a terrific display to outplay their famed counterparts in the loose with their third row players like Jero Dananjaya, Imanka Ariyapala (played at his new position as open-side flanker) and young Shehan Kelaniyagoda at blind side flanker, tackled their opponents to a standstill.

CH were let down by their forwards and the three-quarters who delayed their passes which saw them being ‘nailed’ time and again by their opposite numbers and also ‘knocked-on’ at crucial moments which resulted in their speedy play makers Janindu Dilshan and Reeza Rafaideen being kept in cold storage. But on the few occasions they got possession they made some threatening runs before they were brought down in the nick of time by Kanchana Ramanayake and Kavindu de Costa.

With the winning CR tries scored by Doray, Dananjaya and De Costa, the conversions were slotted in by winger Yasas Kavindu who himself put over both penalties as well.

Meanwhile for the losing CH, the four tries were scored by Number Eight Omalka Gunaratne, scrum half Avishka Lee, hooker Prasath Madushanka and replacement prop forward Ganuka Dissanayake while winger Hirusha Sampath slotted in the solitary conversion.

Referee Aaqil Jamaldeen had a good day with the whistle.

Sunday Observer – Sports
6 February, 2022



  • AGM-2020-01
  • AGM-2020-02
  • AGM-2020-03
  • AGM-2020-04
  • AGM-2020-05
  • AGM-2020-06
  • AGM-2020-07
  • RUGBY SEASON 2019-2020
  • RUGBY SEASON 2019-2020
  • RUGBY SEASON 2019-2020
  • RUGBY SEASON 2019-2020
  • RUGBY SEASON 2019-2020
  • RUGBY SEASON 2019-2020
  • AGM 2019
  • AGM 2019
  • AGM 2019